The Search for Freedom

Across the seas, I travelled far
To Arab lands so strange to me
I wanted to get away from where
I felt much pain and melancholy

And so, I came to this foreign land
The land where I am a total stranger
I thought that I, at last have freedom
To be what I am and make myself better.

Now, that I’m here, I learned a lot
I learned things in a hard, hard way
I learned to act deaf and learned to stay blind
And I yearn more, much more for freedom.

And then, I came to realize
That there is no freedom here for me
But, my journey here has made me wise
I now know how I could be free.

I found my freedom, not in here
I travelled far to no avail
It’s hard to find it everywhere
For freedom is in my own will… to be free.


All Rights Reserved.
Copyright © 2011 by Willyn T Trabajador

Leave a Reply

